nlsa-logoThis information comes from

The purposes of National Lutheran School Accreditation (NLSA) are to:

  1. Help Lutheran schools — early childhood, elementary and secondary — to improve.
  2. Assure school quality by evaluating a school’s compliance with required NLSA standards and indicators of success.
  3. Help all Lutheran schools to evaluate themselves based on their unique purposes and on national standards.
  4. Give appropriate recognition to schools that successfully complete the process.

Seven Accreditation Standards for Lutheran Schools

I.  Purpose — The school is purpose-driven.

II.  Relationships — The school demonstrates its Christian mission through relationships.

  1. School and Congregation
  2. School and Community
  3. School Climate

III.  Leadership — The school is governed and administered following written policy.

  1. Governance
  2. Administration

IV.  Professional Personnel — A qualified and competent staff serves the school.

V.  Teaching and Learning — The school’s Christ-centered curriculum, instructional design and assessment practices ensure teacher effectiveness and engaged student learning.

  1. Curriculum
  2. Student Learning

VI.  Student Services — The school plans for and provides resources and activities that extend beyond standard classroom instruction.

  1. Guidance and Counseling
  2. Extracurricular Activities
  3. Health and Safety
  4. Food Services

VII.  Facilities — Buildings, grounds and equipment provide a safe and healthy environment that serves to enhance student learning.

These standards are based on three assumptions:

  1. Lutheran school educators believe that a high-quality educational program is required of our schools in order for them to be good stewards of the blessings given by Almighty God.
  2. Lutheran school administrators willingly cooperate with governmental agencies unless such cooperation inhibits the free sharing of the Gospel.
  3. Those who own and operate Lutheran schools strive to meet and, where possible, exceed all local, state, regional and federal guidelines for public schools.